PoE switch for Reolink camera systems: what Reolink requires and when you need one

Affiliate links: if you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

PoE switch for Reolink camera systems: the short answer

Reolink asks for a PoE switch or injector that meets IEEE 802.3af for most of its PoE cameras and 802.3at for a short list of high-power models, in both cases with active mode (Reolink’s exact wording is in the first table). Passive PoE injectors won’t work. Whether you need a switch at all depends on the recorder:

  • The Reolink Home Hub Pro powers none of its cameras: Reolink’s spec sheet lists no PoE on its Ethernet ports, and its support article states that the camera port does not provide power. Every PoE camera on a Home Hub Pro needs a PoE switch or an injector.
  • The Reolink RLN8-410 has 8 PoE camera ports of its own (802.3af/at, up to 25 W per port), as many as the wired cameras Reolink lists for it. A switch there adds power for high-power cameras, not wired cameras.

The switch on this page, the TP-Link LS108GP, has 8 gigabit PoE ports under 802.3af/at, up to 30 W per port and 62 W in total. It meets the PoE standard Reolink names, but its datasheet doesn’t print the PoE voltage or “active mode”, and neither Reolink nor TP-Link names the pairing: that is why the LS108GP rows below are marked untested.

This page sets Reolink’s PoE rules against the LS108GP datasheet and the camera ports of both recorders, works out how far the LS108GP’s 62 W goes, and lists how many of each high-power Reolink camera the RLN8-410 powers from its own ports.

Checked against TP-Link’s LiteWave PoE switch datasheet (opens in a new tab) (Last-Modified 2026-09-24) and LS108GP installation guide (opens in a new tab) (REV1.0.1), Reolink’s RLN8-410 spec sheet (opens in a new tab) (Last-Modified 2026-07-22) and Home Hub Pro spec sheet (opens in a new tab) (Last-Modified 2026-07-22), and Reolink’s support articles on PoE switches, NVR camera counts and the Home Hub; records verified on (LS108GP), (Home Hub Pro) and (RLN8-410).

If your Reolink cameras take their power from a switch, this is where to find the TP-Link LS108GP.

View the TP-Link LS108GP on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

What Reolink asks of a PoE switch, against the LS108GP datasheet

Reolink’s requirements come from its support article Which PoE Injector/Switch Can I Use for Reolink PoE Cameras (opens in a new tab); the LS108GP column comes from TP-Link’s datasheet. “Untested” means the switch meets the standard on paper, but neither maker lists the pairing.

Reolink’s requirement Applies to TP-Link LS108GP, per its datasheet Verification level
PoE injector/switch 802.3af compliant (48V) that supports active mode for Reolink PoE cameras other than the models that need 802.3at 802.3af/at on ports 1–8; no PoE voltage and no “active mode” printed Reolink’s rule: Manufacturer. LS108GP: Untested
PoE injector/switch 802.3at compliant (48V) that supports active mode, for Reolink RLC-423, RLC-423S, RLC-823 Series, Reolink Duo Floodlight PoE and Reolink Elite Pro Floodlight PoE The models named in the requirement 802.3af/at, up to 30 W per port; no PoE voltage and no “active mode” printed Reolink’s rule: Manufacturer. LS108GP: Untested
Passive PoE injectors Not supported (Reolink: they won’t work with Reolink PoE cameras) TP-Link lists the LS108GP under IEEE 802.3af/at, not as a passive injector Manufacturer

The two Reolink recorders, and where the switch fits

Reolink recorder Camera ports Power on the camera ports Wired cameras Reolink lists TP-Link LS108GP Verification level
Home Hub Pro 1 RJ45 port at 0.1 GbE (100 Mbps) The Home Hub Pro’s LAN port does not provide power: a camera connected to it, directly or through a switch, needs an external power supply Up to 12, PoE or plug-in Wi-Fi meets Reolink’s stated PoE standard per the switch datasheet Hub: Manufacturer. LS108GP: Untested
RLN8-410 (hardware N7MB01) 8 RJ45 ports at 0.1 GbE (100 Mbps) 802.3af/at, up to 25 W per port Up to 8, of 12 cameras in all meets Reolink’s stated PoE standard per the switch datasheet NVR: Manufacturer. LS108GP: Untested

Sources: Reolink’s spec sheets for the two recorders, its articles How to Add Reolink Camera to Home Hub Series (opens in a new tab) and How Many Cameras Can be Added to Reolink NVRs (opens in a new tab), and the LS108GP datasheet. The LS108GP’s own ports run at 1 GbE.

Home Hub Pro: wired cameras by hardware version

Hardware version Cameras in all Of which PoE or plug-in Wi-Fi Verification level
BASE_WENNT3NA512C / BASE_WUNNT3NA512C 12, whatever the camera type Up to 12 Manufacturer
BASE_WUNNT3NA5 / BASE_WENNT3NA5 24 Up to 12 Manufacturer

Source: Reolink’s Home Hub compatibility article (opens in a new tab), at the default bitrate. Reolink’s spec sheet gives 24 cameras, the figure of the second group; the hardware version of a Home Hub Pro shows in the Reolink app.

RLN8-410: cameras by hardware version

Hardware version Cameras Reolink lists Of which wired Verification level
N7MB01 12 8; the other 4 battery-powered Wi-Fi Manufacturer
NVR_NNT3NA78P 12 8; the other 4 battery-powered Wi-Fi Manufacturer
N3MB01 8 Not stated Manufacturer
H3MB18 8 Not stated Manufacturer
N2MB02 8 Not stated Manufacturer
H3MB16 (RLN8-410-E in Reolink’s other articles) 8 Not stated Manufacturer
H3MB02 8 Not stated Manufacturer

Source: Reolink’s How Many Cameras Can be Added to Reolink NVRs (opens in a new tab). Every version has the same 8 camera ports.

RLN8-410: how many high-power cameras its own ports power

Reolink’s article lists, for the RLN8-410, the most cameras of the same model that can be connected directly to the NVR’s PoE ports. For the high-power models the figure is below the 8 ports.

Reolink camera Most of the same model on the RLN8-410’s own PoE ports Verification level
OMVI X16 PoE (P952) 3 Manufacturer
Duo Floodlight PoE (F750P) 3 Manufacturer
Elite Pro Floodlight PoE (F760P) 3 Manufacturer
OMVI 3i PoE (P931) 4 Manufacturer
Reolink Duo 3 PoE (P750) 5 Manufacturer
Reolink Duo 3V PoE (P757) 5 Manufacturer
OMVI 2i PoE 5 Manufacturer
Reolink TrackMix PoE (P760) 5 Manufacturer
RLC-823S1 (P840) 5 Manufacturer
RLC-823S2 (P850) 5 Manufacturer
Reolink Duo 2 PoE (P730) 8 Manufacturer
Reolink Duo 2V PoE (P737) 8 Manufacturer
8MP&12MP Single Lens 8 Manufacturer

Conditions for every row of this table: same model connected directly to the NVR’s PoE ports; requires NVR firmware v3.6.5 or later; based on 50 m CAT5e cable; Reolink’s column is ‘RLN8-410/NVS8’ and names no hardware version. Source: Reolink’s How Many Cameras Can be Added to Reolink NVRs (opens in a new tab).

What the numbers mean

Home Hub Pro: every PoE camera needs a switch or an injector

Reolink’s spec sheet gives the Home Hub Pro one Ethernet port for the WAN and 1 for IP cameras, both at 0.1 GbE (100 Mbps), and lists no PoE; Reolink’s support article states that the camera port does not provide power, whether a camera is connected directly or through a switch. Which means that every PoE camera on a Home Hub Pro takes its power from a PoE switch or an injector, and the cameras behind a switch reach the hub through that one camera port.

Reolink lists up to 12 wired cameras, PoE or plug-in Wi-Fi, on both hardware groups of the Home Hub Pro; the LS108GP has 8 PoE ports and no separate uplink port. Which means one of those 8 ports carries the cable to the hub’s camera port, and one LS108GP takes at most 7 PoE cameras (8 − 1). Give that cable port 8: it is the first to lose power when the budget runs out (see below), so the cameras keep ports 1-7. If all 12 of the hub’s wired cameras are PoE, that is 12 − 7 = 5 more than one LS108GP takes. Plug-in Wi-Fi cameras count toward the same 12 but don’t take a switch port.

RLN8-410: a switch adds power, not wired cameras

On hardware N7MB01, the version in Reolink’s current spec sheet, Reolink lists up to 12 cameras, of which 8 wired; the older versions list 8 cameras in all. The NVR has 8 PoE camera ports of its own. Which means the RLN8-410’s own ports already reach Reolink’s wired-camera count: a PoE switch doesn’t take it past 8 wired cameras.

What a switch can add is power. Reolink’s article says that high-power PoE cameras, such as the OMVI and Floodlight models in the table above, use more of the NVR’s fixed total power budget, which can lower the number of cameras the NVR takes, and that a power adapter, a PoE switch or a PoE injector can power them instead. Take 8 Duo 3 PoE cameras, one on each NVR port: Reolink’s figure for the RLN8-410’s own ports is 5, which leaves 3 to power some other way. For the OMVI X16 PoE, the figure is 3, which leaves 5 of 8.

How far the LS108GP’s 62 W goes

TP-Link’s datasheet gives the LS108GP a PoE budget of 62 W, shared by its 8 PoE ports, with up to 30 W on any one port. Which means:

  • with one of the 8 ports on the cable to the recorder or to your network and a camera on each of the other 7, the budget works out to 62 ÷ 7 = 8.86 W per camera on average;
  • at the 30 W per-port maximum, 2 devices use 60 W of the 62 W, and a third would take the total to 90 W, past the budget;
  • a camera the RLN8-410 can power from one of its ports draws at most 25 W, inside the LS108GP’s 30 W per port; the shared 62 W still applies to all of them together.

TP-Link’s installation guide says the budget is counted on the power the connected devices actually draw, not on 30 W set aside for each port. So the check is simple: add up the maximum power draw on each camera’s spec sheet, and keep the total within 62 W. The datasheet adds that the actual PoE budget is not guaranteed and varies with client limitations and environmental factors, so a total right at the limit leaves no margin.

Which port loses power first

When the connected devices draw more than the budget, TP-Link’s installation guide says the switch cuts power to the higher-numbered ports first. The LS108GP is unmanaged, so the order can’t be changed. Which means the camera you can least afford to lose goes on port 1, and the one that matters least on port 7, next to the cable to the recorder on port 8.

Extend Mode: 250 m at 10 Mbps

On ports 1-2, Extend Mode carries PoE and data up to 250 m, and the datasheet states that those ports drop to 10 Mbps while it is on. Which means a camera on an Extend Mode port gets a tenth of the 100 Mbps (0.1 GbE) of the Home Hub Pro’s camera port or of an RLN8-410 camera port. Ports 1-2 are also the ones that keep power longest when the budget runs out, so a far camera on Extend Mode is also one of the last to lose power.

Where the switch goes

The LS108GP has no fan, measures 158 x 99 x 25 mm, and TP-Link’s installation guide gives an operating temperature of 0˚C to 40˚C. Which means it runs silently on a shelf or in a closet, but it belongs where the temperature stays inside that range, not in an unheated outdoor box next to the cameras.

FAQ

Does the Reolink Home Hub Pro have PoE?

No. Reolink’s spec sheet lists no PoE on either of its Ethernet ports, and Reolink’s article How to Add Reolink Camera to Home Hub Series (opens in a new tab) states that the LAN port does not provide power and that a camera needs an external power supply. Verification level: manufacturer.

Can I use a passive PoE injector with Reolink cameras?

No. Reolink’s article on PoE switches says not to buy passive PoE injectors, because they won’t work with Reolink PoE cameras; the injector or switch has to meet IEEE 802.3af or 802.3at and support active mode. Verification level: manufacturer.

Why does a camera on the LS108GP keep rebooting?

TP-Link’s installation guide describes this case: A connected PoE device keeps rebooting. The cause it gives: PoE Auto Recovery reboots a powered device that does not send data packets to the switch for a long period, for example an IP camera in sleep mode. The fix: Turn off PoE Auto Recovery; TP-Link also says to turn it off before upgrading a connected powered device. PoE Auto Recovery covers ports 1-8. Source: LS108GP installation guide (opens in a new tab) (2023-11); verification level: manufacturer.

Where to buy the models on this page

The Reolink cameras on this page have no link here: we link only the products we keep a verified spec record for.

Changelog

  • : first published.

Edited by Stefano Mastria. Verified against TP-Link’s LiteWave PoE switch datasheet Last-Modified 2026-09-24 and LS108GP installation guide REV1.0.1, Reolink’s RLN8-410 spec sheet Last-Modified 2026-07-22 and Home Hub Pro spec sheet Last-Modified 2026-07-22, and Reolink’s support articles, on .